While I was interviewing an expert for my article, she provided me with an opportunity to interview someone who practiced this particular exercise routine I was writing about.  Understandably, I was only provided with the contact information after the source agreed to share her personal story with me.  But finding anecdotes this way hasn’t happened often for me.  And when it does, I’m always thankful.  Using ProfNet has also worked on occasion for me.

When it comes to pitching ideas, I may use my own experience to start off the query.  However, when it comes to writing the article, the editor most likely (unless it’s personal essay for the magazine) won’t want to use my personal story.  So, it got me thinking of other places I could use to find anecdotes.  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far.

  • Family/Friends – This may not always fly with an editor, so I would suggest being forthcoming with him about who you plan to interview.  And maybe they’ll make an exception if the story is just that great. Another point to consider is that this is a personal relationship;  so, avoid drama by making sure your friend or family member knows that this story will be out there in black and white for all to see.
  • Bloggers – People blog about many things and keeping an eye out for bloggers who may fit the profile of a story you’re pitching is a good idea.
  • Social Networking – Are you LinkedIn?  Are you connected through Facebook or Twitter? Reach out to the pool of people your connected to online, they may be the key to you scoring a great story for your article.

Do you have any other ideas on where to find anecdotes?

