I am a firm believer in the idea that if you want something in life you have to align your thoughts, words and actions to match the dream.  In pursuing a writing career, I believe that I am a writer.  And the things I say and do complement each other to mirror that reality.  When people ask me what I do – I tell them I’m a writer.  I don’t go through this whole spiel of explaining that I just started out, and that I’ve gotten some clips, and yadda, yadda, yadda.  Part of my process involves visual aids that help me to focus on the path toward evolving as a writer.  Here are some of the things I’ve done to create visual motivators for myself:

  • Visual Board – Write your goals on a chalkboard, stick a list to your refrigerator door, or find some other way to create your very own visual board.  The idea is to have your goals in one place where you can easily view them.  In my attempt to take small steps toward becoming more “earth-friendly”, I made my visual board using PowerPoint, and I run a 3-minute slideshow every morning that has words of encouragement, motivational images (e.g. cropped image NYT best-seller list with my name ad book title among other writers), titles of my books, and phrases like “Book Signing today at Barnes and Noble”.
  • Book Cover Inspiration – That novel idea that’s been running around in my mind for a while now, well I’ve finally started writing it.  And to keep me motivated, I’ve created a book cover for my novel which keeps me on course and inspired.  My book cover has my name, an image, and the working title for my novel.  It’s also included in my visual board.  But to bring in a bit of reality into the mix, I taped it over another book so I can actually pick it up and touch it…well, it is my book.  It serves as a concrete reminder that I am working toward something real, not just an idea of being published one day.  It feels nice to see my name on a book and the proud feeling that stirs up in me is the fuel I need to keep on writing.
  • Just For Fun – We’ve heard the saying: Fake It Till You Make it–well that’s the confidence to believe in yourself even when you have no idea when you’re big break will come.  I like to play around with this website to create a magazine cover.  It’s cute, fun, and if anything another visual source to keep me motivated.

Do you use visualization to keep your morale up?  I’d love to hear your ideas.

