On writingOne of my major writing goals is to become a published novelist.  I have many story ideas that have been on my mind for quite a while now.  And after jotting down a few ideas about the characters and the story lines, I’ve decided that there’s no time like the present to get started on ONE book idea.  After all, when will I write this book if all I’m doing is collecting ideas and scribbling notes about characters and their ensuing drama.

I decided to writing every day in June to complete my first draft.  I had good intentions of participating in last year’s NaNoWriMo.   Ahem, however, I became distracted with my magazine writing goals and some other freelance projects.  Now I’m juggling my schedule better these days (it’s not great, but it’s better).  And with a handle on new projects and a designated time in the mornings to kick off my writing, June seems like an ideal time to begin writing my book.  I know, I know, NaNoWriMo’s goal is to have writers complete 50,000 words.  And at this rate of 1000 words (my new writing badge goal), I’ll only get to about 30,000 words by the end of my June challenge.  However, my goal isn’t to “hit the mark” in word count.  Because I’m doing this challenge to get in the habit of writing daily (at least 1000 words), and by June 30 I will have a draft, not perfect by any means–just a solid start.

So, how will I stay motivated to write?  Here are a few ideas I’ve implemented to keep me on course:

  •  In order to remain motivated I’ve added Debbie Ohi’s “1000 Words A Day” writing badge to my blog as a reminder to commit to writing daily, even after my challenge is over.
  • Armed with my free, autographed copy of Lisa Leonard-Cook’s The Mind of Your Story, I will use this book as a guide to shape my story.
  • I’ve joined a Meetup group for writers that schedules writing events in NYC, which brings fellow writers together in a supportive environment.

Throughout the month of my JuNoWriMo Challenge, I’ll post frequently about my challenges and successes in keeping with my writing schedule.  And in 30 days, I’ll have a solid framework for my book–the seeds that will bloom into the novel that I will be proud to say that I wrote.

